Was an Independent, Do It Yourself Blog dedicated to Icelandic music by music slut Wim Van Hooste

Was an Independent, Do It Yourself Blog dedicated to Icelandic music by music slut Wim Van Hooste
Moved back to I love Icelandic music & started new blog Icelandic Music Mob
The Enfant Terrible of the Icelandic Music Scene - Crapule de Luxe Islandaise
The Mob
and I love Icelandic music

February 24, 2011

3 Redefine Magazine Mixtapes covering the Icelandic Music Scene

Over the course of three days, Redefine Magazine will be rolling out a three-part, comprehensive mixtape covering many bases of the Icelandic music scene. The goal is to dispel the myth that Iceland's musical exports only consist of the ethereal sounds of Sigur Rós and múm and the eccentricities of Björk.
Mixtape A: Electronic + Garage
The first mixtape begins with a fascinating collection of electronic-influenced tracks comprising the minimal, danceable, and everything in-between. The latter half descends into an assortment of roaring garage rock selections which show a side of Iceland that often goes unnoticed to those who have not experienced the country firsthand.  
1. Bloodgroup "My Arms"
2. Who Knew "Tranquility"
3. Yoda Remote "Funky Blueberry"
4. Berndsen "400 Trips"
5. Pornopop "Little Kafka"
6. Ljósvaki "All That Is (Akina Gegoo)"
7. Evil Madness "Free Magic Weed"
8. Tarnús Jr. "Silly Idol Little Boy"
9. Borko "Dingdong Kingdom"
10. Reykjavík! "The Blood"
11. Mammút "Svefnsýkt"
12. Black Valentine "Ben Suala, Keep Walking The Walk"
13. IKEA SATAN "Sound Of The Planet"
14. kimono "Black"
15. Múgsefjun "Hagmunatikin"
16. BONUS TRACK: Caterpillarmen "Döðludans"
17. BONUS TRACK: Hunk Of A Man "Captain Of Love"
Mixtape B: Indie + Instrumental
The second mixtape begins with music from popular Icelandic indie rock musicians, and slowly transmutes; vocals fall away as the mixtape progresses, and instrumentation wordlessly becomes the focus, through post-rock and classical music.
1. Of Monsters And Men "Little Talks"
2. The Way Down "Fatal"
3. Peter And Wolf "Samba Suicide"
4. California Cheeseburger "Paralysed"
5. Rökkurró "Augun Opnast"
6. Worm Is Green "The Darkness"
7. Seabear "Lion Face Boy"
8. Pascal Pinon "New Beginning"
9. Feldberg "I’m Not Thinking Of You"
10. Amiina "Over And Again"
11. Sketches For Albinos "Daniel Likes Birds"
12. Miri "Góða Konan"
13. For A Minor Reflection "Átta"
14. Daníel Bjarnason "Bow To String I. - Sorrow Conquers Happiness"
15. BONUS TRACK: Skakkamanage "Summer All Over"
Mixtape C: Solo Musicians
The third mixtape focuses on singer-songwriters and solo musicians, and explores just how far one person's creativity can be stretched. 
1. Sin Fang "Always Everything"
2. Loji "Blue Ray"
3. Þórir Georg "Er Sem Er"
4. Dad Rocks! "Kids"
5. Snorri Helgason "Freeze-out"
6. Hafdís Huld "Köngulö"
7. Ólöf Arnalds "Innundir Skinni"
8. Ólafur Arnalds "Tunglið"
9. Benni Hemm Hemm "Retaliate"
10. My Summer As A Salvation Soldier "Ham On Rye"
11. Lay Low "Why Do I Worry"
12. Sóley "Theater Island"
13. Just Another Snake Cult "Forget Everything I Have Said"
14. Prinspóló "Niðrá Strönd"
15. Pétur Ben "Something Radical"
16. Björk Viggósdóttir "Before Sundown"
17. Loji "I Lost My Job"
Download all 3 mixtapes here

No comments:

Post a Comment